Graduate Council March 19, 2020 Zoom meeting

Voting Members Present: Amanda Wheeler, Hai Jiang, Erik Gilbert, Gil Fowler, Joan Henley, Christina Akbari, Shawn Drake, Tanja McKay

Non-Voting Members Present: Summer DeProw, Karen Wheeler

Non-Members Present: Mary Elizabeth Spence (Assessment), Robert Bradley (Nursing and Health Professions), Gwendolyn Neal (Education)

Members Absent: Karen McDaniel, Ed Owen, Lauri Umansky, David Newman, Paul Sikkel, Samuel Noi, Matthew Arnold, Jesse Blankenship, Tracy Finch

Meeting conducted via Zoom

Meeting called to order 3:07 p.m.

1. Motion to approve February 20, 2020 Minutes: Christina Akbari. Second: Erik Gilbert. Passed.

2. Old Business

- a. Approved at 2.20.20 meeting but new considerations raised via email post-meeting.
 - i. 2020G_NC05_REGULAR_Thilla-Sivakumaran
 - ii. 2020G NC03 REGULAR Alexandr-Sokolov
 - iii. Discussion about graduate faculty status membership categories and in particular whether Regular Member status can be held by those who serve in administrative roles. Consensus that faculty in administrative roles are eligible to hold Regular Member status if they meet the academic standards. Old business reconsidered with this clarification:
 - 1. 2020G_NC05_REGULAR_Thilla-Sivakumaran
 - (a) Approved as Regular at the last meeting and it meets the definition of Regular discussed today. Need not be reconsidered.
 - 2. 2020G_NC03_REGULAR_Alexandr-Sokolov
 - (a) Approved as Regular at the last meeting, but does not meet the definition of Regular. Motion to change approved status from Regular to Professional: Erik Gilbert. Second: Tanja McKay. Passed.

3. Curricular

a. Motion to approve EBS01-03: Tanja McKay. Second: Erik Gilbert. Passed.

Graduate Council March 19, 2020 Zoom meeting

- i. 2020G_EBS01_NC_CSPS-6323-Advising-College-Students
- ii. 2020G_EBS02_PM_Curricular-modification-College-Student-Personnel-Services
- iii. 2020G_EBS03_PM_Curricular-modification-College-Student-Personnel-Services
- b. 2020G_EC15_PM_MS-ENGR-new-emphases
 - i. Motion to approve: Erik Gilbert. Second: Hai Jiang. Passed.
- c. 2020G_LAC02_ED_MME-General-Emphasis Deletion
 - i. Motion to approve: Tanja McKay. Second: Erik Gilbert. Passed.
- d. Motion to approve NHP03-05: Erik Gilbert. Second: Tanja McKay. Passed.
 - i. 2020G_NHP03_CR_AT-6505-Clinical-Education-in-Athletic-Training-III
 - ii. 2020G_NHP04_CR_AT-6515-Clinical-Education-In-Athletic-Training-IV
 - iii. 2020G_NHP05_NC_PT-713V-Independent-Study

4. Non-Curricular Items

- a. Graduate Faculty Status Applications
 - i. Regular
 - 1. Motion to approve: Joan Henley. Second: Erik Gilbert. Passed.
 - (a) 2020G_NC06_REGULAR_Brad-Rawlins
 - (b) 2020G NC07 REGULAR Paul-Finnicum
 - (c) 2020G_NC08_REGULAR_Brett-Savary

ii. Affiliate

- 1. Motion to approve: Tanja McKay. Second: Erik Gilbert. Passed.
 - (a) 2020G_NC09_AFFILIATE_William-McGuire
 - (b) 2020G_NC10_AFFILIATE_Alison-Robertson

Motion to adjourn: Erik Gilbert. Second: Tanja McKay. Passed.

Meeting adjourned 3:37 p.m.

Standard Subcommittee Memberships

Subcommittee 1	Subcommittee 2	Subcommittee 3
Gil Fowler	David Newman	Shawn Drake
Erik Gilbert	Hai Jiang	Christina Akbari
Ed Owen	Amanda Wheeler	Paul Sikkel
Lauri Umansky	Joan Henley	Tanja McKay
Karen McDaniel	Samuel Noi	Matthew Arnold
Can review: AGRI, ECS,	Can review: BU, LAC, NHP,	Can review: AGRI, ECS, BU,
EBS, NHP, SM	SM	EBS, LAC

To access graduate faculty status applications:

http://www.astate.edu/a/shared-governance/shared-governance-committees/undergraduate-curriculum-council/graduate-council/noncurricular

Password: **Grad_Faculty**

To access curricular proposals

 $\underline{https://www.astate.edu/a/shared-governance/shared-governance-committees/undergraduate-curriculum-council/graduate-council/current-documents.dot}$